A challenge…

In the coming weeks I shall endeavor to take upon myself my greatest writing challenge yet: defending why each of the five remaining candidates deserves to be President of the United States of America. Immediately one sees the counter intuitiveness of such an assignment. How can I, for example, call both the extreme Conservative and the extreme Liberal the best fit for the job? In good faith, I cannot. My own personal opinions certainly bias me strongly towards certain candidates and against others. And if you’ve been reading my blog, you probably think you know which are which, and I can also tell you, you’re probably wrong. However, in the pursuit of journalistic integrity, I shall attempt to quiet my own opinions and don the persona of both a Donald Trump supporter and a Hillary Clinton supporter, my own opinions notwithstanding.

I suppose the next question you ask is: why? Why would you defend someone you don’t agree with, someone you don’t support? Why would you write things that go directly against your beliefs?

My aim here is to inform, not to influence. In such a manner, then, I feel that it is my duty to provide a fair case for each candidate and let the voter decide for himself who deserves his vote. And yes, that means painting each candidate in as positive a light as possible. A follow up series here would be to examine the faults of each candidate in detail, but let’s take things one step at a time.

Another point to make is that these arguments will be rational, to the best of my ability. My goal is not to insult anyone or cause controversy: it is, again, to inform. For this reason, I will refuse to make racist or misogynistic arguments, even when they are the only ones that exist. For this reason again, I will base my arguments off of facts only, all of which will be cited accordingly and accessible to the reader.

Well, I might wake up in the morning and realize that I have set out to do the impossible and choose to abort immediately. It’s very possible that my good conscience will not allow me to argue in favor of certain positions, in which case I will likely direct the reader to another source, because I really do think that a person should try to understand an opposing opinion instead of writing it off immediately. All that kind of thinking does is create division, and god knows, there’s certainly enough of that in this world already. But hey, if I do go through with this, wish me luck 🙂

UPDATE 5/7/16:

Due to recent events in the race (Mr. Cruz and Mr. Kasich’s departure), this project is no longer relevant and will be disregarded.

One thought on “A challenge…

Leave a Reply

